Author Interview with Lily Luchesi…

Here is my author interview with the lovely Lily Luchesi. 😉

lilybirthday

Question 1: Thanks for taking part in my author interview hope you are well and sitting comfortably? Why not introduce yourself a little, where are you from? And Lily Luchesi is such a cool name, is it your real name or a pen name? And why do you chose to use that instead of another?

 Hi! Thanks for having me! Lily Luchesi is indeed a pen name. I use it because my real name was taken by a cookbook author and I didn’t want to get anyone confused. I was originally supposed to be named Lily, and Luchesi is an honour to my Italian/Sicilian heritage. I read the name in a story set during Italy’s Carnivale and just loved it.

I grew up in Chicago, Illinois, where I cultivated my love for vampires, bats, and all things creepy. I moved to Los Angeles when I was almost eighteen and live there now, where I spent my time writing, reading, going to concerts, and watching far too much CW TV!

I am the author of the Paranormal Detectives Series, which I will tell you about later on in this interview.

Question 2: Have you always been a keen writer? Why do you write? Did you always see yourself as a writer?

 Yes, I’ve always been the type of person who made up stories in my head ever since I was a toddler. By the time I was eight, I decided I wanted to be a writer professionally and have been working towards my goal ever since.

I write because if I didn’t, I’d not be me. I love to create, to make something out of nothing, to weave together fictional worlds with “the friends in my head” (as Kurt Cobain put it). There is nothing as exciting and simultaneously terrifying as that of a blank page.

Question 3: I see you have a book out called ‘Stake-Out (Paranormal Detectives Series Book 1)’, sounds intriguing with the rouge vampire and the attractive detective with the special FBI branch. Can you tell us a little bit about it? Will it be part of a series and how many do you plan on writing?

 Yes, I actually have three books out right now in my Paranormal Detectives Series. They are “Stake-Out”, “Miranda’s Rights”, and “Life Sentence”. The fourth book, “Right To Silence” will be released on January 17th.

The story follows mortal detective Danny Mancini as he discovers the Underworld of Chicago when he accidentally tries to arrest a vampire on the job. It’s because of that incident he meets Angelica Cross, of a secret FBI affiliate, and is recruited to hunt down the vampire.

As the series goes on, we see more of Danny’s abilities, Angelica’s past, and new characters who help and hinder the couple as they also deal with their turbulent romance in between rogue vampires, cursed werewolves, demons, and more.

I will have five books in the series in total, and the fifth book should be out summer of 2017, all from Vamptasy Publishing. I also have a spinoff planned for next year as well, which will be a standalone novel, and a short story prequel I am working with my publisher to release.

Question 4: Have you written any other stories? Are they published?

 I have had short stories in four separate anthologies thus far. The first is an erotica story (my only non-paranormal release so far) in the Hot Ink Press anthology Naughty Bedtime Stories: In Three Words. It’s called “Have No Fears” and focuses on a bigshot lawyer who comes out and reveals his feelings towards a male co-worker.

The second is also LGBT erotica, released in the Hot Ink Press anthology Death Love Lust. It’s called “The Devil’s Dozen” and follows a woman as she accidentally gets caught in a deadly Friday the 13th myth with another attractive woman. I hope to write a follow-up novel for it one day.

The third is in the CHBB Publishing award-winning anthology Lurking In The Shadows. It’s called “Too Young To Kill” and is about a real estate agent who has to spend the night in a house where murders have taken place and Occultists once lived.

The fourth will be released on November 14th from Metamorph Publishing in the Gems Of Gratitude anthology. It’s called “Unpunished” and is about a detective who has to pick up her father’s old murder case at a private school, but gets more than she bargained for.

Question 5: Do you prefer self-publishing or Traditional and why?

I love traditional publishing. When I signed with Vamptasy in October of 2014 I found a wonderful community of people who support one another unconditionally.

Question 6: Do you prefer to write in first or third person?

 Third, though I do have some first person stories coming out next year.

Question 7: What is your favourite book that you have ever read? Or that has made a big impact on how you write?

 My favourite book is Jane Eyre, because it was the first book that made me feel anything for fictional characters. I laughed, I cried, I sighed, and I fell in love with the writing and the characters. I want to create stories that make others feel as strongly as I did.

Question 8: What advice would you give to any budding authors out there?

 Two things: don’t give up. I almost quit and it was the biggest mistake I ever made. Two, write what you love, not what’s popular.

Question 9: Do you stick to a strict writing schedule or do you just write if and when possible? Do you have a designated writing place? Do you have any weird or wonderful writing rituals that you have to do?

 I try to get 2k words a day, but that doesn’t always happen. I think that any progress made is better than no progress. I write in bed or outside, depending on the weather. Right now, I’m outside. I have to listen to music when I write. It helps concentration and influences the vibe of the story I’m working on.

Question 10:  How long does it normally take for you to write a book from start to finish including editing?

 It depends. I wrote my first novel in two months, took six months to write the next, and write my final two in the space of four months. It depends on my health and my level of inspiration.

Question 11: Do you listen to music whilst you write?

 As mentioned, I do. I love anything rock and metal. Mostly I listen to Disturbed, Stone Sour, Slipknot, and 80s metal when I work, though occasionally an anime soundtrack slips in as well.

Question 12: And finally is there anything you would like to add?

 I want to add, to anyone who picks up my series after reading this, to enjoy it! While I do have messages of xenophobia, racism, anxiety, PTSD, and the rule of not judging people by their appearance, I wrote these books for readers to have fun, to get lost in the story as I do when I read my favourite books. I want to give the enjoyment I have always received.

Suffering pretty gothic girl with chains over dark
Suffering pretty gothic girl with chains over dark

Thank you Lily for a great interview it was lovely to get to know you and I wish you all the best with your books 😉

If you want to check out Lily’s books then please feel free to click on her links and check them out.

http://lilyluchesibooks.wix.com/lilyluchesi

http://amazon.com/author/lilyluchesi

http://facebook.com/lilyluchesi

http://twitter.com/LilyLuchesi

http://instagram.com/lilyluchesi

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7369101.Lily_Luchesi

Stake-Out Link: http://smarturl.it/Stake-OutBk1

Miranda’s Rights Link: http://smarturl.it/MirandasRightsBk2

Life Sentence Link: http://smarturl.it/LifeSentenceBk3

Bio: Lily Luchesi is a young author/poet born in Chicago, Illinois, now residing in Los Angeles, California. Ever since she was a toddler her mother noticed her tendency for being interested in all things “dark”. At two she became infatuated with vampires and ghosts, and that infatuation turned into a lifestyle by the time she was twelve, and, as her family has always been what they now call “Gothic”, she doesn’t believe she shall ever change. She is also a hopeless romantic and avid music-love who will always associate vampires with love, blood, and rock and roll.

Her debut novel, Stake-Out (Paranormal Detectives Series Book One), was published by Vamptasy Publishing on May 19th, 2015. Book two, Miranda’s Rights, was released on January 8th, 2016. Book three, Life Sentence, was released on August 2nd, 2016 by Vamptasy Publishing, and book four, Right To Silence, was also just accepted by the publisher and will be released January 17th, 2017.
She has 
a short stories featured in the anthologies Naughty Bedtime Stories: In Three Words, Death Love Lust, and Lurking In The Shadows
.

 

 

Leave a Reply

