My top ten video games that have helped my imagination…

I’m a nerd, a geek, what ever it is you call someone who loves reading, writing and playing video games. I just can’t help it when it comes to video games, I get excited and will stay up for hours playing them especially when I find a game that is BRILLIANT. Now I’m not one of those who doesn’t have a life aside from video games, oh no!!! I will get addicted for a couple of weeks until my writing mojo kicks back in then I probably won’t play it for a few months but when I do play, I play hard 🙂 So here it is, my top 10 video games that have helped inspire my imagination and my books that I have written in some way or another.

  1.  The Last of us…      

Now you have most probably heard me go on about this game quite alot on my blog and in person if you are lucky / unlucky enough to know me. But what makes it so god damn special. Well firstly the storyline is amazing, heartwrenching and well… AMAZING!!! You play as characters Joel and Ellie, a late 50’s something bloke and a girl of 14. They are thrown together through circumstances out of their control, in a world full of zombies, clickers, bloaters and humans (they tend to be the worst). The story is gripping as it shows Joel and Ellie start to have a father like daughter relationship which is threatened by a group called the fireflies who want to kill Ellie to try and make a vaccine out of her immunity to the cordyceps fungal virus which turned everyone mad. The scenery to the game is so realistic and gave me the idea for my book Alone, due to the sense of lonliness you get from the apocalyptic world naughty dog creates. I use The last of us to help me get back in the zone for writing my Alone series. And I think in total I have played it through about ten times over 🙂 (I’m not addicted to it much) I also have the comics, the posters, the art book, the soundtrack, card holder and mug… I love The last of us and if I was ever given the opportunity to write the book for it I sooooo would. 

       2. Final Fantasy X…     

A game I used to play in my teenage years which they decided to remaster for the PS4 so all us nerds could play it again. I LOVE final fantasy X with a passion, along the same lines as The last of us. The storyline with Yuna and Tidus is epic, I love all the aeons (mysterious creatures that help Yuna to defeat sin). They live in a world called Spira which is consumed by sin, a terrible entity which brings death and destructuon but Yuna and Tidus hold the Key in defeating it forever. As sin has a habit of coming back so many years after being defeated by summoners. I love the funky electronic themed music that goes with it and have the soundtrack to this one too. This story along with Legoelves helped fuel my inspiration for my newest book Junia.

      3. Resident Evil 2…     

This game was from my early to late childhood (Not teens) and yes your wondering why and how my parents let me watch it… well lets just say this was nothing compared to the games kids are playing now a days. I loved this horror game, Claire was obviously my favourite character and Leon was pretty cool to. I loved this game so much that when S.D.Perry wrote the books to go along side them I had to have them. City of the dead was based on this game and I actually used this book to cheat my way through some of the game hehe. Back then the gore and horror on this game was something else but now a days it would be laughed at. I know they have done remakes of the other resident evil games and hope one day they remake this one to as it was awesome.
      4. Devil may cry…     

Omg the days me and my old friend Kate would spend playing this game together. The first one out of the franchise was the best and when they done over Dante to look different in the newest ones its just…no…not right…not the same!!! The game is about a demon hunter Dante and I guess it spurred some of my ideas for my book The keeper of the Key with my shadow demons. A good solid classic and would love to play again.

      5. Grand theft auto vice city…   

I used to play this as a teen too, I never really played all the missions though if I’m honest but I used to love the freedom of exploring the city and driving all the cars. I used to activate a cheat which changed the outfit of the character from male to female and I used to pretend that she was Anita Blake from my favourite book series at the time, I used to drive her around the city pretending to play out the story in the book… I’m sad I know but I guess it fuelled my love for the next game on my list.

      6. The Sims…      

Gosh the hours spent playing this game instead of doing homework, or housework now I’m older. I used to love making people, controlling their lives and now I actually either just like making houses and towns or the characters from my books. I had it when it first came out on PlayStation and the graphics were pants, now the graphics are awesome and you can really make the people and homes individual. To be honest if you haven’t played this game then you haven’t really lived haha.

     7. Murdered soul…

I haven’t actually played this game but I have watched my hubby play it two times all the way through. Its brilliant, your a cop who has been murdered in Salem but you don’t remember why. The aim of thegratitude game is as a ghost to uncover all the clues and defeat the evil soul who is making people commit murders. Very dark and ominous with its theme but a great spooky game to play.

     8. Tomb Raider…     

The first and the original is the best, none of the others can beat it. And if I’m honest I’m not a fan of the newest ones, to me its lost that tomb raider feel to it. The bats in the first one were hilarious with how boxy they were but this game actually properly used to give me the creeps. The enemies to fight, the sense of being on your own, the washed out colours of the game made it a little freaky. And nothing can compare to locking the butler in the celler with the older versions, not like the boring mansion now!!!!

    9. Bioshock…    

A great horror story set under the ocean. You arrive at Rapture after crashing into the ocean from your plane, the only way from there is down. Things screaming and hiding in the shadows, strange powers and forces at work, the same powers you end up exposing to your own dna. You have to fight the residents that have gone crazy and also mad doctors and people who want to rule over rapture. I enjoy this game a lot even though it is particularly freaky in some parts. If you love being scared and made jump this is the game for you.

      10. Final Fantasy 7…     

This game belonged to one of my neighbours when I was a child and they leant it to me. The graphics were more boxy than the old tomb raider games and the music more electronic than final fantasy X. The theme to the story is dark but its one that has stuck with many a final fantasy fan over the years. Now my lovely lil sis has informed me that they are remaking the game and wow what a game experience that would. I also love the film advent children which is like a sequel to the game, also a dark storyline but the graphics in it are sooooo much better haha. 

What games if you play any do you find leave a constant reminder of themselves in your brain? Ones that give you inspiration if you write or you just love?? 

Xxxx

Leave a Reply

