Book review… The Strain… by Chuck Hogan and Guillermo Del Toro…

The Strain, the newest television box set that I have become addicted to. It’s all about two CDC doctors Ephraim Goodweather and Nora who come across a vampiric disease wiping through New York. I became so engrossed in it that I searched in Amazon and found their was a series of books written on it too… I was done… I had to get it… and my lovely mummy treated me to it.

But was it worth the read???

Yes and no!!!

Yes – Because it does explain some things that the television series left out but some of those things weren’t necessarily beneficial so I can see why some were left out. And yes just because I wanted to see what it was like.

No – Because it just wasn’t as good as the television show. There was no Dutch (The cool and somewhat despisable character that breaks my Fet’s heart (The big cool rat exterminator dude) and trashes the internet and satellites with a hack), there was no German guy that torments Setrakien and the others. (These two characters did help to add depth to the show and would have been better in the book too, unless of course they do appear in books two and three but dunno if I will go that far as to read them too). Sektrakien in the show built the coffin for the master with his bare hands and tools in the German war concentration camp but didn’t in the book!!! That really gave Setrakien more of a reason to hate the master, a reason that isn’t there in the book. Yes it had the horror, the gore, the scares but… it lacked so much more. It lacked the love the television show has and by love I mean the love of a writer giving the book what it really needs TLC…it had no proper TLC. 

So yes I read it and enjoyed it somewhat but it took me over a week to finish… and if I had loved it I would have read it within hours or at least a day or two.

Xxxx

Leave a Reply

