Author Interview with Jason Nugent…

So July is whizzing past quicker than I can blink and during it I’ve met some great authors whilst doing the 30 days 30 authors challenge and here is one of them… So please give a warm welcome to Jason Nugent…

jason 4

Question one – Why did you personally choose to take part in ‘Lucinda’s 30 days 30 authors promotion and writing challenge’ and what do you hope to accomplish at the end of it?

I wanted to learn new techniques for promoting my work and promoting other authors. I’m always open to new challenges and I never stop learning. I figure someone else always knows more than me and I’m not afraid to admit it. With the collective 30 authors, I knew I’d learn something new to help me in my promotional efforts.

Question two – Tell us a little bit about yourself. What’s your other job if you have one? Where are you from? What skills do you have other than writing?

I was born and raised in Cleveland, OH but have lived in Southern Illinois for over half my life. I’ve been working as a sales rep. for a screen-printing /embroidery /promotional products company for almost 17 years now. Skills? Hmmm…I’m a decent bocce ball player.  😉

Question three – Why do you write? Did you always want to be a writer or did you have other plans for adulthood?

I absolutely love creating new worlds for others to enjoy. I love the idea of someone getting lost in a story I wrote. To be able to entertain someone with my ideas is awesome! I’m constantly thinking about new story ideas and can’t wait to get them out of my head and into the hands of someone else.

I can’t say I’ve always wanted to be a writer, but I’ve always had a creative side. I did write some stories as a kid. My grandma had an old typewriter my brother and I would use and there was something about turning a blank sheet of paper into something magical with the addition of those black letters.

I wanted to be a history professor. My degrees are in History. Life happened and it didn’t turn out that way. I’m good with it. I get to now use those skills for research with my writing.

 

Question four – Where do you get your inspiration from?

Wow, all over the place. I like to sit and observe the world around me. As I do, ideas will pop into my head. I can recall a moment sitting in a church and this entire story of demons erupting from a hole in the choir floor came to me. Within no time I had a complete story. Other times it can be random photos or words I’ve heard which will prompt a story in my mind. If I let it simmer for a bit, I usually end up with an interesting story.

Question five – How many books do you currently have published at the moment and are you working on anything new?

I have three published works. My first two are collections of short/flash fiction, mostly dark in nature. Think “The Twilight Zone” or “Tales From the Crypt.” I also have a young adult sci-fi adventure novel out called “The Selection.” At the moment I’m working on a few short stories as well as the follow up novel to “The Selection.”

Question six – Do you self-publish or have you gone with traditional publishing and why?

I self-publish all my work. I started it as an experiment because “everyone was doing it.” I learned where I screwed up and what I did right and have worked hard at presenting top-notch works. I don’t want to be the reason someone bashes indie authors. I take pride in what I do and want that conveyed in the final work.

Question seven – If you had to take three characters (Either your own or from someone else’s book) to dinner who would you choose and why?

I’d take Eron from my book “The Selection” because I’d want to know why he’s so dang timid!

I’d take Rand al Thor from Jordan’s “Wheel of Time” series to try and understand what is in his head.

Finally, I’d take Uhtred of Bebbanburg from Bernard Cornwell’s “The Last Kingdom” series cause he’d be a lot of fun.

Question eight – What genre do you prefer to write in? And is it the same genre you like to read?

I write horror (again, the “Twilight Zone” and “Tales From the Crypt” style as well as light sci-fi and fantasy. It is the same genre I prefer to read.

Question nine – What is the best bit of advice someone has given you about writing?

To always be true to yourself, no matter what the critics say or what the market is. Write what interests you.

Question ten – What advice would you give to a new writer?

See questions nine above. It’s so vital to be true to yourself in your writing.

Here are Jason’s links if you wish to find out more about him or check out his books…

Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jasonjnugentwrites

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/lailokenri

Website: http://jasonjnugent.com/

Book Links

(Almost) Average Anthology: mybook.to/almostaverage

Moments of Darkness: mybook.to/momentsofdarkness

The Selection: mybook.to/the-selection

Thank you Jason for taking part and wish you all the best with your books. 😉

Xxxx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

