Author Interview with Nicole Luttrell…

Please give a warm welcome to the lovely Nicole Luttrell who is another author I have met during the July, 30 days 30 authors challenge, hope you all enjoy getting to know her.

Question one – Why did you personally choose to take part in ‘Lucinda’s 30 days 30 authors promotion and writing challenge’ and what do you hope to accomplish at the end of it?

I love introducing my readers to new indie authors. I feel like indie writing is about to explode. We’re more respected more accepted and taken more seriously than ever before. I want to work with other indie writers reach as wide of an audience as possible.

Question two – Tell us a little bit about yourself. What’s your other job if you have one? Where are you from? What skills do you have other than writing?

I live in Butler, PA with my husband, daughters and way too many pets. I’ve lived here almost all my life. It’s a steel town that almost died for a while. But it’s coming back.

Aside from writing, I like computers. I don’t talk about my day job very much, but I’ll tell you that I do tech support. I like being able to help people with technology.

Question three – Why do you write? Did you always want to be a writer or did you have other plans for adulthood?

I always wanted to be a writer. I thought I wanted to be a journalist for awhile, and I almost joined the military. After three years of Jr. ROTC I realized that wasn’t for me, and after working on my school paper I realized I didn’t want to do that either. I’ve just always wanted to be a story teller.

Question four – Where do you get your inspiration from?

Everything. I live in a steel town that was fed by the coal towns that are all but gone now. That feeds in to my writing, certainly. Every day brings inspiration.

Question five – How many books do you currently have published at the moment and are you working on anything new?

I have two different series that I write, because I can’t settle on a genre. The first is called Woven. Book one is out now, it’s called Broken Patterns.

I also write a science fantasy series called Station 86. This started because I wanted to do a serial story on my website, Paper Beats World. Right now the first two novellas are out, Seeming and You Can’t Trust the AI. I’m planning on launching book three, which will be full novel length, in November. It’s called Virus. I’m working on edits now and I’m pretty excited about it.

Question six – Do you self-publish or have you gone with traditional publishing and why?

Broken Patterns was traditionally published by a wonderful company called Solstice. I’ve chosen to self-publish beyond that, though. I just feel like I have more say over the final product.

Question seven – If you had to take three characters (Either your own or from someone else’s book) to dinner who would you choose and why?

I would want to go to dinner with Aly from Tricker’s Choice (by Tamora Pierce) because she’d have some great stories. I’d want to take Lemony Snicket for the same reason. (He counts as a character, because he wrote himself into the story.) And I’d like to take Wednesday from American Gods, because he could get the whole meal comp’ed somehow.

Question eight – What genre do you prefer to write in? And is it the same genre you like to read?

I’m a speculative fiction writer. I always say that I write about dragons, spaceships and ghosts. Sometimes the ghosts of dragons on spaceships.

While I love speculative fiction, I also adore historical fiction and autobiographies. Especially when they’re written by female comedians. I loved One More Time by Carol Burnett.

Question nine – What is the best bit of advice someone has given you about writing?

I don’t remember what author said this, but it’s not mine. “Do you know what I did when my book was published? I shut the hell up and wrote another one.” That’s what I do. I write a book, and I promote my book. Then I let it go and write another one.

Question ten – What advice would you give to a new writer?

Don’t think too much about whether the book’s going to sell right now. Just get it done, get it as good as it can be. Don’t worry about making it perfect, that’s what your editor is for. Just get it where it needs to be. Then send it to your editor or write your submission letter.

Then sit down and write another one.

Thank you Nicole, I wish you all the best with your books. Here are her links if you wish to check her and her books out.

www.paperbeatsworld.com

Here’s a link to my Facebook page

Here’s a link to the Broken Patterns sales page.

Here’s a link to the Seeming sales page.

Xxxx

 

One thought on “Author Interview with Nicole Luttrell…

Leave a Reply

