Author Interview with Stan Faryna…

Author interview with Stan Faryna who is another brilliant author from the 30 days 30 authors challenge, so please give him a warm welcome. 😉

stan 1

Question one – Why did you personally choose to take part in ‘Lucinda’s 30 days 30 authors promotion and writing challenge’ and what do you hope to accomplish at the end of it?

I wanted to meet and get to know aspiring indie authors, understand the challenges as they see it, and offer any assistance in social media strategy.

Question two – Tell us a little bit about yourself. What’s your other job if you have one? Where are you from? What skills do you have other than writing?

I’m an online strategist with 20+ years experience in digital/online/interactive advertising, design, development, interaction, marketing, sales, technology, etc.

Question three – Why do you write? Did you always want to be a writer or did you have other plans for adulthood?

I aim to encourage, teach, correct, rebuke, console, and inspire others in righteousness. I write because there are things to be said, understood, and lived. Hopefully, these things I write are true, good, excellent, lovely and praiseworthy. 

Question four – Where do you get your inspiration from?

Much inspiration comes from my own search for self-understanding and joy, my reflection on what’s going on in the world, and, ultimately, my search for God. 

Question five – How many books do you currently have published at the moment and are you working on anything new?

Francesco Augustine Bernadone (FAB), a novella, is my first, Indie book. I’m working on many more novellas and novels.

“In FAB, a disabled, recently unemployed man is desperately searching for hard cash in a brutal, post-apocalyptic MMO game about zombies, greed and survival. All of which strongly reminds us of Shakespeare’s midsummer qualm, the course of true love never did run smooth. This epic, near-future science fiction and fantasy novella asks us big questions about what it means to be human.”

stan 2.png

Question six – Do you self-publish or have you gone with traditional publishing and why?

I have done both now. FAB is self-published. A previous work of political non-fiction was published by an esteemed, traditional, academic publisher. I would enjoy the opportunity and option to both self-publish and be published by a top 10 publisher with reasonable terms.

Question seven – If you had to take three characters (Either your own or from someone else’s book) to dinner who would you choose and why?

I’m tempted to consider C.S. Lewis’ Uncle Screwtape as a guest, but I lack the match of intellect to benefit from a conversation with the likes of such a devil.

Johnathan Livingston Seagull. As an appetizer, of course. The three little pigs – spit-roasted sucking in the method of Romanian preparation.

Forgive me, I started to think of who I want to eat for dinner.

Dinner guests: G. K. Chestertons’ Thomas Aquinas and Francis of Assisi. From his biographies. Perhaps, Chesterton’s Father Brown too. 

Question eight – What genre do you prefer to write in? And is it the same genre you like to read?

I’m not sure in what genre(s) and subgenre(s) I am writing in. I think it’s science fiction and fantasy. Some say I’m writing litRPG, but more than a few litRPG authors say it’s not litRPG. I’m too close to the story to know for sure. I’m just telling it as it is. And, yes, this is a little scary to me when I start talking to other authors and publishers. I don’t want to presume things I don’t know. Nor do I want to step on toes.

I prefer spiritual reading. Next, philosophical reading. After that, the great books and classics.

Question nine – What is the best bit of advice someone has given you about writing?

To give up. That I shall never succeed. That I am not matched for the challenges of writing a great novel.

Question ten – What advice would you give to a new writer?

The surprised, humble, grateful smile of someone who has received you and your good word as a blessing – that gives me a peace and excitement that I have done good and right. That I have been true and walked in beauty. For a moment. Aim for this reward.

Of course, there is much more to do and much evil to be avoided.

For me, writing can be a glorious instrument to serve and love strongly. To love others. To love strongly is to give what is useful, to encourage, and to equip one another for every good work. This may be the highest purpose of the word – written and spoken.

Big dreams are bigger than us. They are bigger than selfish ambition, our glory and our peculiar comforts and delights. But there is nothing truer, even of ourselves, than love. Even if we must travel in darkness to that good place.

Here are Stan’s Links if you wish to follow him and check out his books. And I wish you all the best with your books in the future.

https://www.facebook.com/stan.faryna

https://www.facebook.com/Faryna.FanPage

https://stanfaryna.blog

Xxxx

 

Leave a Reply

