Zombie-a-thon author interview with LC Champlin…

Please give a warm welcome to our next Zombie-a-thon Halloween author interview, LC Champlin…

Lena.png

Question 1- So hello and welcome to the Zombie-a-thon, please start by telling us a little bit about yourself and what you do?

I think of myself as a writer first and foremost, but I pay the bills by working as an itinerant medical professional. Home base is the Blue Ridge Mountains of Georgia. Don’t look for me there, though, since I’m usually off enjoying life in other states. I’m a lover of all things Geek and Dark. I admire villains, antagonists, and rogues more than a little. They really do have more fun.

Question 2-      I guess the BIG question is… Why do you personally write about Zombies and the genre of the Apocalypse? What gives you your inspiration and love for the gory genre?

It’s in the dark that we see a person’s true character. Villains are darker and heroes are, well, less heroic. It’s gritty and real, not the usual sugar-coated people and situations we see in fiction. Plus, who doesn’t like shooting zombies?

The paradoxical freedom of a zompocalypse is something many of us long for. When I write, I get to play both god and mortal, creating and surviving the zompoc vicariously.

Question 3- What books have you currently written and tell us a little about them?

My first book is Behold Darkness, book 1 of the Wolves of the Apocalypse series:

Two businessmen in San Francisco match wits with the mastermind of a multi-target terrorist attack who unleashes a plague that turns people into mindless cannibals

It’s in the vein of Resident Evil and TWD, with a pinch of Zombieland thrown in for flavor. Terrorists, cannibals, and the US government give our (anti)heroes the challenge of a lifetime during the first few hours of the zompoc.  If you like dark and snarky, this is your book. It goes live on Kindle 10/15/17.

I have the second and third books of the series written, but they’re either at the editor or waiting for review. I plan to have four in the series, but we’ll see how that goes. There may be more!

BD edit2 500

Question 4-  Did you choose to self-publish or go traditional and why?

I’m a control freak, so I went indie. I have complete say over my story, characters, cover, marketing, etc. I have a professional editor, whom I chose after a lot of research. Learning how to publish and market is as complicated, if not more so, than writing, but it’s a challenge I enjoy.

Question 5- Do you like to listen to music when you write?

I like to listen to music while I do anything! What I listen to depends on my mood, the scene I’m writing, whose POV I’m using, etc. It can be anything from Mongolian Folk Metal to 1940s to orchestral. Pandora is fantastic!

Question 6-  What is your most favourite Zombie film of all time and why?

Zombieland. It’s hilarious, first off. It also gives you plenty of story and character meat to chew. And Bill Murray.

Train to Busan is a close second. The zombies are flat-out terrifying.

Question 7-  What is your most favourite Zombie novel of all time and why?

I have to go mainstream on this one and say Rise of the Governor by Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga. It influenced my writing a lot, though I dislike the use of present tense. (My work is in past tense, third person limited.) They give great detail to the characters, the plot is logical and tight, and the walker gore is fantastic! They also bring home the idea that humans will always be worse than “monsters.”

Question 8-  How long do you think you would survive if a Zombie outbreak occurred?

Depends where I am! If you’re caught out at on the highway or in Walmart, you’re in for a tough go. If you’re at home with your gear, you’re better off. It also depends on what type of zombies we’re looking at. So, I can’t really give a good answer. At least a week, we’ll say.

Question 9- What would your weapon of choice be in a Zombie Apocalypse?

Are we talking Walking Dead zombies/walkers? Probably a katana like Michonne in TWD, kukris like Alice in Resident Evil, or an AK with a bayonet.

Question 10-  If you were turned into a Zombie what author would you bite to be Zombie buddies with?

Daniel Humphreys!

Question 11-  Do you watch ‘The Walking Dead’? If yes who is your favourite character?

I love villains. Always have. So on the antagonist side, it’s the Governor and Negan. I don’t like them in the comic/graphic novel, though. On Team Rick, I like Daryl and Carol. They all have attitude.

Question 12-  And finally any advice for any budding Zombie wannabe authors out there?

Make friends with fellow zombie lovers, readers and authors alike. Read and watch widely. Write what inspires you. Have fun!

Want to check out LC and her books and links, then here they are 😉

Author links:

lcchamplin.com,

vlnresearch.com,

https://www.facebook.com/LC.Champlin.Author,

@LCChamplin,

https://www.goodreads.com/LCChamplin,

https://www.amazon.com/LC-Champlin/e/B0755JH71B/

Book links:

IF until 10/14 – full book – https://instafreebie.com/free/jttbq

IF ongoing – first 9 chapters of book – https://instafreebie.com/free/ZbQRc

Amazon – Kindle will be available 10/15 – https://www.amazon.com/dp/1548986372/

Thank you LC for taking part and we wish you all the best with your books for the future.

Xxxx

One thought on “Zombie-a-thon author interview with LC Champlin…

Leave a Reply

